COVID-19 Information>> Coronavirus  |  Parks Virtual Activities>>


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Hats Off to National Merit® Scholarship Award Winners in Weston

Post Date:06/11/2019 1:58 PM

National Merit® Scholarship Program

The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.

Of the 1.6 million entrants, some 50,000 with the highest selection Index scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program.


In early September, about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists. To ensure that academically talented young people from all parts of the United States are included in this talent pool, Semifinalists are designated on a state-representational basis. They are the highest scoring entrants in each state. NMSC provides scholarship application materials to Semifinalists through their high schools. To be considered for a National Merit® Scholarship, Semifinalists must advance to Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other requirements explained in the information provided to each Semifinalist.


In February, some 15,000 Semifinalists are notified by mail that they have advanced to Finalist standing. High school principals are notified and provided with a certificate to present to each Finalist.

Winner Selection

All winners of Merit Scholarship® awards (Merit Scholar® designees) are chosen from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments—without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference. A variety of information is available for NMSC selectors to evaluate: the Finalist's academic record, information about the school's curricula and grading system, two sets of test scores, the high school official's written recommendation, information about the student's activities and leadership, and the Finalist's own essay.

Types of Merit Scholarship® Awards

Beginning in March and continuing to mid-June, NMSC notifies approximately 7,500 Finalists that they have been selected to receive a Merit Scholarship® award. Merit Scholarship awards are of three types:

  • National Merit® $2500 Scholarships
    Every Finalist competes for these single payment scholarships, which are awarded on a state-representational basis. Winners are selected without consideration of family financial circumstances, college choice, or major and career plans.
  • Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards
    Corporate sponsors designate their awards for children of their employees or members, for residents of a community where a company has operations, or for Finalists with career plans the sponsor wishes to encourage. These scholarships may either be renewable for four years of undergraduate study or one-time awards.
  • College-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards
    Officials of each sponsor college select winners of their awards from Finalists who have been accepted for admission and have informed NMSC by the published deadlines that the sponsor college or university is their first choice. These awards are renewable for up to four years of undergraduate study.


NATIONAL MERIT® $2500 Scholarships:

  • Sofia del Rio, WESTON, Probable career field: Biochemistry, HOMESCHOOL
  • Lauren J. Fromkin WESTON, Probable career field: Journalism, PINE CREST SCHOOL
  • Viraj A. Maddur WESTON,  Probable career field: Computer Science, CYPRESS BAY HIGH SCHOOL
  • Skylar B. Ronkin WESTON,  Probable career field: Computer Science, N. S. U. UNIVERSITY SCHOOL

NATIONAL MERIT® College-Sponsorships - between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years

  • Richard C. Alvero, Western High School,National Merit University of Florida Scholarship

  • Teresa M. Castano, Cypress Bay High School, National Merit University of Florida Scholarship

  • Dylan R. Ogrodowski, Western High School, National Merit University of Florida Scholarship

  • Karaline Xia, Cypress Bay High School, National Merit University of Florida Scholarship